Posted by: Nici | 14 April, 2008

New me!

Yesterday I decided that the new me was long overdue so last night I had a bath and used my lovely smelling bubble bath and used my delicous vanilla body scrub, I then used a face scrub on my face and felt so much better after.

Today was the eating and exercising plan. I am now keeping a food diary of everything I eat as I have put on a bit of weight since giving up smoking and I am determined that 2008 is the year I am going to lose it!

I have also decided that on top of going to the gym twice a week I am also going to walk five times a week as well. So I strapped on the pedometer and started to walk my usual walk around the block but instead of turning left at the end of the road I decided to turn right and walk a way I haven’t walked before and I am so glad I did. There were beautiful houses and country lanes and beautiful countryside to look at. I really enjoyed listening to the birds and watching the squirrels climbing the trees.

I walked for 40 minutes and walked 3091 steps, I don’t know how this equates in calories but my legs and bum certainly ached when I arrived back home!

I am feeling really pleased with myself and weather permitting I am looking forward to my walk again tomorrow.

Next as I mentioned on Kell’s blog is the skincare and after hearing about her succesful day at Debenhams I think I may follow suit! Unfortunately it won’t be until pay day but it gives me lots of time to research! 🙂

 

Responses

  1. Oooh, good luck! I think it’s an excellent plan you’ve got there! Let me know how you get on and if there’s anything I can do to help.

  2. Aw thanks a lot ii!

    If there is one person who knows their stuff about skincare it’s you! 🙂

  3. Oh, the pressure! One good tip I can give you right off the bat. Get the April number of InStyle (the US edition). If it’s still available, that is. They do this whole “best of the best by the best” spread of all cosmetics, from make up to skin care to hair straighteners and back and while some of the products may not be available outside of US that’ll give you some tips on what to look for.

  4. Brilliant, thanks ii!

  5. Best of luck with the new regime, Nici – it’ll be worth it when you see the results!

    The pedometer is a brilliant invention. It’s recommended that to stay healthy, you take a minimum of 10,000 steps per day and it’s amazing how easy it is to get to that number! I used to wear a pedometer and found that by the time I had walked to work in the morning, I had already walked about 4,000 steps. By the time I got home at night, after being up and down at the office all day, taking a short walk at lunch time and walking home, I had easily reached and breached 10,000 steps. I was clocking up double that on the weekends when I walked into town and wandered around the shops.

    I’ll be joining you on the health jag. I’m ordering some ante-natal DVDs on yoga and pilates in order to tone up and get as supple as possible before giving birth, and it’s something I can continue after the baby is born without it being too high-impact. I’ve decided I don’t want to be a Frumpy Mum – I want to be a Yummy Mummy, therefore I’m going to have to put the work in and get the weight off as well as toning up. I want to get back down to at least a size 14, but ideally a 12.

    Anyway, best of luck again – I’ll be popping along regularly to read your updates on your progress. 🙂

  6. PS – I’ve already noticed an improvement in my skin from using the Clinique stuff for a week. Have decided it was well worth the investment and have ordered some of that Sheer Cover mineral makeup too in an attempt to be kinder to my skin whilst still looking great!

  7. That’s interesting about the Clinique Kell that you have already noticed a difference…Just goes to show that the more expensive skin care is worth it. Roll on pay day!

    Perhaps we should be health buddies, we can support each other! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

