Posted by: Nici | 27 July, 2008

In memory of mum

Very sadly my mum lost her battle with cancer on the 15th July 2008. She passed away very peacefully in hospital.

Mum had already made her funeral plans and she requested that I read the following poem which I had given to her a few years ago. I think this poem sums up mum’s passing perfectly.

God saw that she was getting tired

And a cure was not to be

So he put his arms around her

And whispered ‘come with me’

With tearful eyes, in silence

We saw her fade away

Although we loved her dearly

We could not make her stay

A golden heart stopped beating

Hard working hands laid to rest

God broke our hearts to prove to us

He only takes the best

RIP Mum

22nd June 1945 ~ 15th July 2008

 

Responses

  1. {{hugs}} sweetie!

  2. That is such a beautiful poem. *hugs*

  3. I’ve seen that poem before – it’s beautiful.

    *Hugs*

  4. like you, my mother lost her battle with cancer on may 17 2009. and I also read this at her funeral. It’s beautiful, I will remember the words of this poems for as long as I live.

  5. Clarissa, I am so sorry to read about your mum. The year anniversary of my mum’s death is rapidly approaching and I am dreading it…. 😦

    I think this is a beautiful poem and so so true.

    Hope you are ok.

    xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

