Posted by: Nici | 10 September, 2011

Summer is very nearly over

So after four months off from uni, suddenly I am back on Friday. I can’t quite tell you how I have filled my time during these four months, all I remember is for most of it I was bored! But now with Friday looming ever closer, I’m reflecting on the huge workload which awaits me as a second year social work student. We have a Children and Families module which consists of a 3,000 word assignment and a 3,000 word group presentation. A 3,000 word assignment for our Context and Practices of Social Work module, a 3,000 word assignment for our Principles and Skills of Social Work module and a 3,000 word assignment Social Work with Adults module. This is all alongside an 100 day placement in which we have a HUGE portfolio to complete with a number of tasks, observations and various pieces of paperwork to complete. Our booklist for the above modules is in excess of ten pages long resulting in needing a new book shelf for the books I consider essential.

I am looking forward to the challenge and believe that if I am organised and stay behind at placement every day to complete my paperwork then I should just about cope! For those of you who are not regular readers of my blog, I am also a lone parent of a teenager who is taking his GCSE’s this year so it is crucial that I balance my uni workload equally with my home responsibilities to ensure that my son gets all the help and support he needs to successfully pass his GCSE’s. Thankfully, he is very understanding of my uni work and we tend to sit down and do out homework together!

This year will be hard, but I must focus on the end result – becoming a social worker. I am hoping to find the time to keep my blog updated of how I am progressing and tidbits of info which other students might find useful. I am determined to still have a social life, as all work and no play… Well you know the rest šŸ™‚

Responses

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

